Source: Shutterstock 223654213

KPI-controlled optimization of production processes

Control of production processes


Qualicision technology is based on fuzzy logic which has been extended to complementary effect and helps to incorporate decision-making expertise into business processes in the form of software. Fuzziness in business processes is not only the result of inaccuracy regarding the process planning data used. It also results, in particular, from the variety of interactions between the options for controlling these processes and the process goals; the "key performance indicators" (KPIs) in other words.

When business processes are optimized on the basis of Qualicision, such interaction is captured in the form of matrices (impact matrices) using the process data. These impact matrices are combined with mathematical conflict and compatibility analysis to calculate which alternatives should be selected for decisionmaking to come as close as possible to the process goals. In technical terms, conflict and compatibility analysis allows the so-called combinatorial variety of control options to be managed in relation to optimization of the KPIs. Examples include optimizations of production sequences in the automotive industry and in production companies in general.

 

Copyright: PSI FLS

Copyright: PSI FLS

 

The Qualicision Functional Decision Design Scheduling Engine (QFDDS) is a Qualicision based support for shop floor planning and is integrated within an ERP system. Work orders for the production process are managed in the ERP system and are made available to the QFDDS Engine for detailed planning. QFDDS generates an occupation plan according to the desired optimization priorities or key performance indicators (KPIs) such as maximum usage, minimum stock, short lead time, minimum setup times, preference for job priorities and approaching delivery dates and makes these available to the surrounding systems for further processing at a BDE terminal, for example. To help planners find suitable priority settings for KPIs, a learning algorithm is integrated into the QFDDS, which permutes different priority settings and thus analyses optimized occupation plans according to different KPIs in order to maximise the key data generated by the system.

The results of KPI optimization can be visualised as the KPI Viewer in an additional explanation facility (see brown area in figure 2). The maximum characteristics (utopia points) that can be achieved for each KPI during the learning phase are shown in the brown area. To help select a particular priority setting the planner can enter a preference pattern (red area on the diagram) and is then automatically shown the best priority setting (grey area on the diagram).

KPI-gesteuerte Optimierung von Produktionsprozessen



Die Qualicision-Technologie basiert auf komplementär erweiterter Fuzzy Logik und hilft, Entscheidungs-Know-how in Form von Software in Geschäftsprozesse zu integrieren. Unschärfe (Fuzziness) entsteht in Geschäftsprozessen nicht nur durch Ungenauigkeit der verwendeten Prozessplandaten. Sie entsteht insbesondere durch die Vielfalt der Wechselwirkungen zwischen den Möglichkeiten zur Steuerung der Geschäftsprozesse und den Prozesszielen, den sogenannten Key Performance Indikatoren (KPIs).

Bei Qualicision-basiert optimierten Geschäftsprozessen werden die Wechselwirkungen in Form von Matrizen (Wirkungsmatrizen) anhand der Prozessdaten erfasst. Aus den Wirkungsmatrizen wird mittels einer mathematischen Konflikt- und Verträglichkeitsanalyse (KV-Analyse) errechnet, welche Entscheidungsalternativen auszuwählen sind, um die Prozessziele möglichst genau zu erreichen. Technisch betrachtet macht die KV-Analyse die sogenannte kombinatorische Vielfalt der Steuerungsmöglichkeiten im Hinblick auf die Optimierung der KPIs beherrschbar. Beispiele sind Optimierungen von Produktionsreihenfolgen in der Automobilindustrie und in produzierenden Unternehmen generell.

 

Copyright: PSI FLS

Copyright: PSI FLS

 

Die Qualicision Functional Decision Design Scheduling Engine (QFDDS) bildet eine Qualicision-basierte Planungsunterstützung für die werkstattorientierte Fertigung (shop floor planning) und wird unterhalb eines ERP-Systems integriert. Fertigungsaufträge für den Produktionsprozess werden im ERP-System verwaltet und der QFDDS-Engine zur Feinplanung zur Verfügung gestellt. QFDDS generiert einen Belegungsplan unter Berücksichtigung der gewünschten Optimierungsprioritäten bzw. Key Performance Indikatoren KPIs wie maximale Auslastung, minimale Lagerhaltung, kurze Auftragsdurchlaufzeit, minimale Rüstzeiten, Bevorzugung von Auftragsprioritäten und nahen Lieferterminen und stellt diesen dem umgebenden System für die Weiterverarbeitung z.B. am BDE-Terminal zur Verfügung.

Für die Unterstützung des Disponenten beim Finden von geeigneten Prioritäteneinstellungen für die KPIs ist im QFDDS ein Lernalgorithmus integriert, der über verschiedene Prioritäteneinstellungen permutiert und so nach verschiedenen KPIs optimierte Belegungspläne analysiert, um die vom System errechneten Kennzahlen zu maximieren. In einer zusätzlichen Erklärungskomponente können die Ergebnisse der KPI-Optimierung als KPI-Viewer visualisiert werden (siehe braune Fläche in Abbildung 2). In der brauen Fläche werden die während der Lernphase maximal pro KPI erreichbaren Ausprägungen (Utopia-Punkte) dargestellt. Als Auswahlhilfe für eine bestimmte Prioritäteneinstellung kann der Disponent ein Wunschmuster (rote Fläche der Grafik) angeben, zu dem automatisch die beste Prioritäteneinstellung (graue Fläche der Grafik) angezeigt wird.